Skip to content

Who Knew?

February 25, 2012

A couple of “who knew” moments today.  First came during the 7 am WOD.  I didn’t do the regular warm up as I wanted to practice double-unders.  I still haven’t strung any together.  Practice continues.  The WOD itself was Nasty Girls – 3 rounds of 50 air squats, 7 muscle ups (or 14 ring rows and 14 jumping ring dips), and 10 hang power cleans (I did 75 lbs.).  It was a good WOD.  Challenging, but not so awful.  I probably could have gone a little heavier on the cleans, but 75 was definitely challenging.  My time was 10:59.

So, the “who knew” moment came during the last part of the WOD.  Handstands.  Here’s a secret: I don’t do handstands.  They scare the hell out of me.  I’m afraid of falling on my head.  Soooo, whenever we are supposed to do them in WODs, I, well…don’t.  I avoid them.  I can do tripods and I can do wall walks (kinda), but I’ve never really tried a handstand.  So, today I came clean and asked for help.  Kim spotted me and helped me kick up into a handstand…a REAL handstand.  And, I held it.  I was really surprised.  It felt pretty strong.  Seems I was selling myself short all this time!  Actually, I think I have gotten stronger.  Either way, I’m proud…and I’m going to keep at it so I get more comfortable doing handstands.  Having been a fat kid, I didn’t do any of this stuff as a kid.  I never did cartwheels, back bends or any of that stuff.  I could do summer salts, but I don’t know that I ever even tried a handstand as a kid.  That’s where my “who knew” moment came in…40 years old and learning to do handstands.  Ha!  Who woulda thunk it??? 🙂

My second “who knew” moment was around food.  If you’ve been following the blog, you know I’ve been struggling with getting back on track.  And, weekends are much harder for me to stay on track then weekdays when I’m working.  The stucture of the work week helps.  Well, today was no exception.  As the day went on, my eating started veering off track.  I ate too many nuts.  Was snacking on almond butter.  Not good.  So, I started thinking that maybe I should just really cheat and get it out of my system.  I was thinking about getting pizza from the Fountain (which is right down the street from my house and has awesome freakin’ pizza) and ice cream.  Then, I’d eat it and stay strict for the rest of the challenge.  You know how that story goes, right?  I thought about this for a while.  I was pretty set on doing it, and then…I didn’t.  Not exactly sure why, but I didn’t.  Now, this is not a complete success story.  I still ate kinda crappy for the rest of the day, but it certainly wasn’t as bad as it would have been if I’d pigged out on pizza and ice cream!  So, I can’t say I’m as proud of this as I was of my handstands, but I’m glad I didn’t do what I was planning.

So, tomorrow is a rest day, which I’m very much looking to.  I will be going to ACF, though.  I’m taking MELT tomorrow at 1 pm.  I’m looking forward to that, too.  I hope we do some hip stuff.  But, anything will be good.  My massage therapist had surgery adnd hasn’t been working for a while now.  It’s been too long!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

