Skip to content

What a Difference a Day Makes!

February 23, 2012

I think I may have used this as a title of a post before, but it is so true for me today!  Last night, I was feeling very negative and frustrated after the meeting of the 90 Day Challengers.  Well, today I woke up and it was a new day.  My alarm started going off at 5:45 (I was going to the 7 am WOD) and I got out of bed at around 6 am.  I was kinda tired and dragging, but I got myself ready, feed the cat and the dog, made sure the dog pooped, and was out of the house by around 6:35.  I went in and did the WOD and I think it was as I was in the locker room getting ready for work that I realized that I felt pretty damn good.  Not sure what shifted, except that I got some sleep, but somewhere along the way, I let go of the negativity and decided to focus on the positive.  Actually, one thing that I think helped is that I decided on a new goal that I want to accomplish before the end of the challenge during the WOD.  I decided I’m going to do what it takes to get double-unders.  I can get one, but then I stop jumping.  I’ve never gotten more than one at a time.  By the end of the challenge, I’m going to be able to string them together.  I’m not going to set a number because I don’t really know what is realistic, but I will be able to string some double-unders together!  I think setting that goal helped my attitude.  It is something that I feel I can accomplish so maybe I just needed something concrete to look toward to give me a little push.

Anyway, the WOD was “Annie” which is 50-40-30-20-10 double-unders (I did singles) and ab mat sit ups.  My time was 7:34 and there was a 12 minute time limit.  The second part of the WOD was 5-5-5-5 presses.  We partnered up and my partner and I did a warm up: 5 presses with just the bar (35 lbs.), 4 presses at 45 lbs. and 2 presses at 50 lb.  Then we got into our 4 sets of 5 presses.  We did 55 lbs.  Dean told us to go 80-85% of our max.  The sets were challenging, but doable.  I think I got some good tips on my form and got some good practice.  The last part of the WOD L-sits.  They are killer.  Oh, and one more thing on the WOD, and forgive me if it’s TMI but…every time I do more than a couple ab mat situps at a time anymore, I get a blister on my ass!  WTF???  This never used to happen to me and now it happens all the time.  Anyone else have this issue?  It’s pretty annoying…

My food was pretty good today and I took Jason’s advice and did the “freeze game” three times.  I think I did it more than three times, but I mostly did it in my head, so I’m not exactly sure how many times I actually did it.  I thought about it a lot.  I’m going to try to keep it up, especially around food (like to get in touch with if I’m really hungry or not and if I’m not and want to eat, what’s going on that could be causing that). 

Food:

Post WOD: protein shake

Breakfast: baked oatmeal

Lunch: paleo meatball and tomato basil soup

Snack: hard-boiled egg, baby carrots, cashews

Dinner: chicken piccata, roasted brussel sprouts, orange

Snack: jerky, raisins, almonds

Here’s hoping each day keeps getting better 🙂

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

