Skip to content

Productive Sunday

January 29, 2012

So, I’ve made my dog a treat snob.  I baked her (and her doggie friends) homemade Pumpkin Peanut Butter dog treats for Christmas (my dog freakin’ LOVES pumpkin).  Now she is turning her nose up at store-bought treats.  Really?!?  So what did I do today?  Yes, that’s right.  I baked for my dog.  Here are the treats I made, shaped like moose, dog bones and cats.  If nothing else, it gave me an excuse to use my moose cookie cutter, which I love.  God…I really should have a kid 🙂

Anywho…today was a productive day.  I went on my run this morning.  3.6 miles.  After the run, I was walking back to my house with my friend and I said that it felt good to get out and run (since I hadn’t run since New Years Day).  She laughed and said, “Did you ever think you’d hear yourself say that???”  The answer to that is: HELL no!  I only started running last February.  I hated it for months.  Really hated it.  But, I committed to run a 5k so I had to keep going.  Then after the 5k, I wanted to keep it up so I kept running.  Then I decided to do the 10k so I had to keep going.  Somewhere in there, I stopped hating it.  I still can’t say I love it, but I don’t hate it.  I’m planning on running a half marathon in the Fall so come Spring, I’m going to have to get back out there and start really running again.  So, yes, it did feel good to get out there and run today.  Who am I?!?!?  🙂

After the run, I ran some errands and then went to MELT at ACF.  It was pretty cool.  I noticed that I was able to lay much flatter on my yoga mat after MELTing than I could before we started.  After the class, I talked to the instructor about my burpee issue.  I showed him how I do a burpee and he was intrigued.  We talked a bit and he gave me his card.  I think I might invest in a private MELT session so he can assess my problems and give me some stuff to do for my specific issues.  I told him I thought I’d be an interesting case for him and he agreed 🙂

After MELT, it was off to the golf course with my dog where I threw the ball for her for about a half hour.  She ran her ass off!  She is passed out in front of the fireplace as we speak.  This dog doesn’t know how good she’s got it…freshly baked treats, frequent outings for fun and frolic, and lounging in front of a piping hot fireplace.  She’s got the life, that’s for sure 🙂

Now I’m sitting here watching some of the Pro Bowl and doing some stuff on the computer.  Soon I’m going to get all my food for tomorrow ready and pack my bag for the gym.  I’m going to the 7 am WOD before work.  Going to get to bed early tonight as well.  I’ve gotten a good amount of sleep this weekend, which is fairly unusual.  Want to keep it up. 

Oh, one more thing.  Today at MELT, I chatted with two people (one of whom I knew and one I didn’t) and it came out that they read and enjoy my blog.  It was so nice to hear that.  It’s nice to know that people are reading it and can find some useful or entertaining stuff to take away from it.  So, the next time I sit her typing away, wondering if anyone even reads this stuff anyway, I’ll know they do so I’ll keep going 🙂

Food today:

Pre-Run – Lara bar

Post-Run – 3 sausage links and a tangerine (the run was a “pancake run”, meaning that after the run,  there was a breakfast spread – pancakes, sausage, bagels, quick breads, etc.  Glad I got out of there just eating what I did 🙂

Snack – jerky, raisins and almonds

Lunch – meatball and tomato basil soup

Dinner – bacon and sweet potato turkey burger and chocolate covered cashews

Snack – (will have soon) cheese, blackberries and almonds

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Can I have the dog treat recipe, please? I have a spoiled rotten dog as well.

  2. Sure. Here it is: 2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour, 2 eggs, 1 cup canned pumpkin, 3 heaping TBSP. peanut butter, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together flour, eggs, pumpkin, peanut butter, salt and cinnamon in a bowl. Add water as needed to help make dough workable, but dough should be dry and stiff. Roll the dough into a 1/2 inch-thick roll. Cut into 1/2-inch pieces. Bake until hard, about 40 minutes. (*I don’t usually need to add any water to the recipe. I have had to add more flour before, as the dough can be sticky, but I didn’t need to add flour when I made them yesterday. Just make sure you flour the board you roll the dough out on.)

Leave a comment